You just had your first date with the girl you have had a crush on for about a year, after taking her to dinner, the two of you decide to catch a late night movie. As you prepare to turn into the Kansas City movie theater’s parking lot, a driver runs the light and hits your vehicle. You briefly lose consciousness, and when you open your eyes, the paramedics and police are at the scene of the car accident. Immediately, you look over to see if your date is okay. She is not in the car with you, and when you begin to sit up, you feel a sharp pain in your leg and paramedics tell you not to move.
You hear your date’s voice in the background telling you she is okay and to keep still so you can receive treatment. Eventually, the paramedics get you out of your car and onto a stretcher. The police begin to ask you questions, and your head is swirling with confusion and disbelief. Later at a Missouri hospital, the police inform you the driver of the other vehicle was intoxicated when he struck your car. The only bright spot of the evening is that your date is sitting by your side holding your hand. You have cuts and abrasions on your face, and your leg is seriously hurt.
What Penalties Will the Missouri Drunk Driver Face?
In the state of Missouri, there are laws for driving while intoxicated that specify drivers should not operate motor vehicles while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drivers with blood alcohol counts (BAC) of 0.08% will face a charge of DWI and face penalties and charges. The higher the blood alcohol count, the stiffer the penalties for driving while intoxicated. If a drunk driver in Kansas City hits you, it is in your best interest to contact a personal
injury attorney to get the compensation you need to recover from your injuries.
Drunk drivers will face criminal penalties depending on their blood alcohol content and if they have previous convictions for driving while intoxicated. A first-time DWI offender often receives a Class B misdemeanor charge. Once their BAC is over 0.2%, they will receive a Class B misdemeanor and could face up to 6 months in jail with a $500 fine. Offenders with multiple driving infractions while under the influence of alcohol will have to spend more time in jail. The more convictions a driver has, the stiffer the penalties. Missouri law enforcement wants to send a clear message that drunk driving is not acceptable under any circumstances.
What Damages Can I Receive in Kansas City Missouri for My Injuries?
In addition to the damages for your vehicle, you may also be able to file a lawsuit for the personal injuries resulting from the accident. You will need to schedule an appointment with a personal injury attorney to determine what damages you are eligible to receive because of your accident. Like in other cities and states, Kansas City, Missouri allows you to request two different types of damages. Your attorney can file a claim for any economic damages you have due to the accident like lost wages and medical bills. They will also be able to request non-economic damages for you for your pain and suffering because of the accident. Consulting with an attorney will ensure you have someone working on your behalf to protect your rights.
An attorney in Kansas City, Missouri will also be able to meet all deadlines to file a claim for compensation for your personal injuries. You will have five years to file a claim before the statute of limitations will expire for your accident. If you retain a lawyer to handle your case, you can focus and of your time and energy on recuperating and know your case and request for compensation is in process. An attorney will also know where your personal injury case needs to go for processing since it is a civil (not criminal) matter. There may also be criminal charges against the drunk driver, but the criminal court system will handle any charges associated with a criminal case.
Should I Hire an Attorney for My Drunk Driver Personal Injury Case in Missouri?
You may be unsure if you need to hire an attorney to handle your Kansas City, Missouri personal injury case. The only way to determine if a lawyer can help you with your case is to schedule an appointment and meet with them. You will be able to discuss your accident and personal injury claim with them, and they will be able to review the specifics of your case and let you know how they can be of assistance. There are many intricate details of filing for compensation under personal injury laws that an experienced attorney will know how to handle. They can use their resources to make sure you receive any and all medical treatment you need to recover from your injuries. If you make the decision to work with an attorney, you will be able to devote your time to recovering while your attorney takes care of the difficult details of your case.
Contact the Krause & Kinsman Law Firm for Assistance with Your Personal Injury Case
The attorneys at the Krause & Kinsman Law Firm can help you get the compensation you deserve for the injuries caused by your drunk driver accident. Our dedicated lawyers will work hard to see to it that you receive the benefits you need to recover from your injuries. We will fight the battle with the insurance carriers, so you will not have to worry about how you will pay your medical expenses. Call our office today and schedule an appointment so we can discuss how we can help you with your injury case. Let us take care of the legal matters so you can focus on what is most important, your recovery.
Robert Kinsman is a personal injury, mass tort, business litigation, and employment discrimination attorney who practices in Kansas City, Missouri. He graduated from the University of Missouri Kansas City School of Law and has been practicing law for several years now. Robert Kinsman is passionate about normalizing the life of his clients after they have been seriously injured. Learn more about his experience here.