Contact The Police Immediately
If you’ve been in a car accident, you know how scary and inconvenient they can be. If the other driver is underage, you might be tempted to forego taking action out of sympathy for them and their future. This could leave you without enough compensation to cover the injury to you or your car. It is understandable that teenagers can be eager to drive and live their own lives. That said, you won’t do yourself any favors by not reporting the accident to the authorities. Contact the police immediately to ensure that you get the compensation you deserve. It’s important to have is a record of the accident. You have to tell the police if you are hit by an underage driver.
What Will Happen To The Underage Driver?
An underage (and therefore unlawful) driver most likely does not have liability insurance. The Missouri Department of Revenue is tasked with enforcing state mandatory liability laws. You should contact their office if you are hit by an uninsured underage driver. Luckily, Missouri law requires that vehicle owners have insurance covering uninsured motorist accidents. In Missouri, drivers must have uninsured motorist insurance covering $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Contact Your Insurance
Your insurance company needs to know about the accident as soon as possible. Your insurance policy likely states that you have to tell the company about an accident within 24 hours of it happening. Even if you feel like you want to hold off on calling your insurance company so you and the child driver can “work something out,” don’t do it. Waiting to contact your insurance company following an accident can mean losing out on coverage and assistance with the matter.
Call A Kansas City Car Accident Lawyer
Having a good car accident attorney on your side when you’ve been hit by an underage driver can make all the difference. Call Krause & Kinsman, a firm with experienced a car accident attorney. You deserve quality legal representation, and Krause & Kinsman offer just that.